Policy on Library Use and Borrowing Privileges

Eligibility for Borrowing Privileges
(revised 10/10/06)

Within the Library, use of all materials is free of charge.

Any Nebraska resident is eligible for borrowing privileges, providing they meet the requirements for an eligible borrower below.

Organizations within Phelps County such as schools, nursing homes, businesses, day care establishments, and libraries may apply for an “institutional library card” free of charge.  The Library Director is responsible for defining the library services available to institutional library card holders, i.e., maximum items checked out at one time, circulation period, fine threshold, etc. Applications for institutional cards are subject to approval by the Library Director.

An organization based outside of Phelps County may apply for an institutional library card.  The application will be subject to approval by the Board, and the organization will be required to pay a non-resident annual card fee of $500.00.  One library card will be issued to each organization.

Registration for Individual Borrowing Privileges

In order to register with the Library as an eligible borrower, a person must show documentary proof of both identity and place of residence.  If a child cannot independently prove identity and residence, a parent or legal guardian may present proof on behalf of the child.

In order to prove identity, a person must show a driver’s license or other photographic document from the list below that contains both his or her current legal name and a photograph. In order to prove residence, a person must show one (1) document that lists both his or her current legal address and the same name listed on his or her document(s) presented as proof of identity.  Many of the photographic identification documents listed below as acceptable proofs of identity will also list address and may serve both as proof of identity and as proof of residence, or one of the non-photographic documents with a current address may be used instead.



Photographic Identification Documents(To prove ID and current address) Non-Photographic Documents(To prove current address)
  • Driver’s license
  • Current Nebraska property tax bill
  • State-issued ID card
  • Current automobile registration
  • U.S. Citizenship & Immigration Services
  • Printed checks (personal or payroll)
  • Permanent Resident Card (Green Card)

  • Utility bill dated within the past thirty days;
  • U.S. Passport
  • Current lease, mortgage papers, or rent
  • Student ID card
  • receipt that states the property address

  • Employee ID card
  • Any other document deemed credible by library staff on duty.
  • Any other photographic identification.

If a newly registering borrower is unable to present acceptable documents containing current proof of residence, the Library may extend limited borrowing privileges for a period of 22 days or until documentary proof of identity and/or residence can be offered.  During this 22 day borrower grace period, the customer will be allowed to have a maximum of one item checked out at one time.

The Library Card

When the registration process has been completed, the borrower will be issued a Holdrege Area Public Library card.  The borrower will be asked to read and sign a statement on the back of the card accepting responsibility for materials borrowed on it.

The Library card is like a credit card.  It allows library staff to complete borrower transactions quickly with the library’s automated circulation computers, speeding service to all.  However, like a lost credit card, a lost library card in the wrong hands may allow dishonest persons to incur fines and charges for which the card owner is responsible.  It is important for a borrower to report a lost card to the Library as soon as possible so it can be deactivated and prevent use by unauthorized persons. Replacements for lost or damaged cards may be issued for a charge of $2.00.  Proof of identity and residence must be offered at the time of issuing a new card.

Library staff members will check materials out to any person who presents them with a library card in good standing.  Library staff members do not require proof of identity at the time a borrower checks out materials, however a library card is non-transferable. Exceptions may be made for use of cards between family members as long as there are no charges for lost or damaged materials, fines in excess of $25 or items more than 60 days overdue on any family member card.

Since the use of our public Internet computers is subject to individual time limits and (in the case of minors) parentally-defined access limits,  a person wishing to use an Internet computer must use his or her own card or request a guest card for Internet access only.


Service will not be denied or abridged because of religious, racial, social, economic, or political status or gender or national origin.

Facility and Hours

To achieve the goal of good library service the Board of Trustees accepts the responsibility of providing and maintaining facilities that will adequately meet the physical requirements of modern, library service.  Such facilities will offer the community a compelling invitation to enter, read, browse, listen, and learn.  The building will fit an expanding program of library service.

The building and property committee of the Board will review all insurance policies annually to ensure adequate coverage on the building and its contents, and to ensure adequate workmen’s compensation.

The Library shall be open Monday-Thursday, 10:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m.; Friday and Saturday, 10:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. The Library will be closed for the following holidays: New Year’s Day, President’s Day, Memorial Day, Fourth of July, Labor Day, Veterans Day,Thanksgiving, Day after Thanksgiving, Christmas Day and Day after Christmas.

The Library may open late or close early if severe weather is likely to endanger employees traveling to and from work.  The responsibility for closing the Library rests with the Library Director.  If he/she is not available, other librarians are responsible in the order established by the Director.  The Library cannot be closed without the consent of the Library Board President or descending rank officer of the Board.

(Revised 10/10/06)

(Revised 07/07/15)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.