Meet the Author ~ Mark Malmkar ~ December 5!

Friday, December 5 ~ Noon-3:00pm
Stop in and visit with Nebraska author Mark Malmkar as he discusses his book MURDER ON THE GOLDEN STATE.
Wayne Darnell, a senior FBI agent in the Chicago field office picked up the phone. The Southern Pacific Railroad Police reported a crime scene in a sleeping car on one of their premier passenger trains, the Golden State. The evidence was one of the bedrooms contained bullet holes and blood. As he listened to the agent on the phone from the train station in Los Angeles, he was stunned by one critical detail. Tony Fiorelli, one of the dispatchers at J&L Express, a trucking company in northern Chicago, is confronted by the realization that he is a marked man. The mob is going to kill him, and it seems imminent that the Feds are going to arrest him. Can he get away from them both?
Books will be available for purchase/signing. Drop in anytime between noon-3:00pm.

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Murder-on-the-Golden-State/824205040933866

MarkMalmkar2

Smart Investing @ Your Library Kick-Off Event Tuesday, November 18!

smartinvestingWhere will you find money for college? ..Money to buy a home? …Money for retirement? Central City Public Libraryhas resources to help you find answers. The library is offering books, in-library events, and online curriculum, to help people make better decisions about their money by taking advantage of free, unbiased resources offered at the library.

A Kick-Off Event to launch the library training is scheduled at the library on November 18 at 6:30pm-7:30pm. The Wrap-Up Event will be held on Tuesday, January 6 at 6:30pm-7:30pm.  Advance registration is recommended by stopping by or contacting the library at 946-2512. Participants who attend both the Kick-Off and Wrap-Up events and participate in the free online curriculum will be eligible for the drawings of an iPod Shuffle and $25 Amazon.com gift card.  Participants can complete the online course at their own pace.

This financial education effort is supported in part by a grant from Smart investing @ your library®, a partnership between the American Library Association and the FINRA Investor Education Foundation. The Smart Investing @ your library® Builds Nebraska Communities program is coordinated in Nebraska by the Nebraska Library Commission and the Northeast Library System.

The FINRA Investor Education Foundation supports innovative research and educational projects that give underserved Americans the knowledge, skills and tools necessary for financial success throughout life. For details about grant programs and other FINRA Foundation initiatives, visit www.finrafoundation.org.

 

 

Meet the Author: Jim Misko (Thursday, Oct. 23 @ 12:00pm-3:00pm)!

asallmyfatherswereMeet the Author:  Jim Misko

Thursday, Oct. 23  12:00pm-3:00pm

Books will be available for purchase/signing.  

Author Jim Misko, Nebraska born and bred, will be stopping at the library on Thursday, October 23 (12:00pm-3:00pm) as part of the tour for his new book “As All My Fathers Were.”  This All-American novel is about two aging brothers who travel the beautiful but endangered Platte River to complete the dictates of their mother’s will.  Jim Misko’s opus compares to McMurray’s Lonesome Dove, and Norman Mailer’s Battle Cry.  Howard Frank Mosher (author of thirteen books, including the forthcoming novel, God’s Kingdom) writes “In Jim Misko’s exciting new novel, As All My Fathers Were, two aging brothers set out by horseback up the beautiful but endangered Platte River.  Their odyssey into the heart of the contemporary American West is both harrowing and inspiring.  Anyone who thinks that old-fashioned storytelling in the tradition of Lonesome Dove and Cold Mountain has gone the way of the Platte River buffalo herd must read this fine novel.”

 

Don’t Miss an Author Talk/Book Signing With Tracy Lynn Blessen on Monday, Sept. 22!

Meet Nebraska author (and Fullerton resident) Tracy Lynn Blessen, Monday, Sept. 22 @ 7:00 pm. Be sure to mark it on your calendar now!
Blessen is the author of the recently published book “A Farmer’s Wife.” She will read excerpts from the book, sharing stores about her life as a hardworking farm wife. Books are available for purchase/signing after the program.
Jane E. Ryan (author of the novels “The Boarder” and “Broken Spirits, Lost Souls” and writer/executive producer of the film, “The Boarder”) writes “For anyone interested in the lives of hardworking farm wives, Tracy Lynn Blessen’s new book, A FARMER’S WIFE is a must read!  Filled with colorful details of the routine and unexpected events common to Nebraska farm life, Ms. Blessen paints a clear picture using broad strokes combined with her own blend of gentle humor.”
Books are available for purchase/signing after the program.
A Farmer's Wife (2)

 

NYT Best Selling Author Victorine Lieske

Victorine Lieske Visit

New York Times Best Selling Author Victorine Lieske discussed her novels and the eBook publishing/selling process. She gave the audience some great tips and publishing industry insights. Her newest book is “Accidentally Married.” The book is a sweet romance about Madison Nichols, an aspiring actress that needs to find a job. Due to a misunderstanding, she is put in the awkward position of pretending to be a girlfriend of CEO Jared Jameson (not the job she was applying for)…. Want to find out more? The book is on sale now Amazon and Barnes & Noble . The three books (pictured) are also available for checkout at our library.

 

If You Like Downton Abbey… Try These Books!

Books Like Downton Abbey

If you like Downton Abbey…  try these books!
“Princesses Behaving Badly:  Real Stories Without the Fairy-Tale Ending” by Linda Rodriguez McRobbie
“Longbourn” by Jo Baker
“His Majesty’s Hope” by Susan Elia Macneal
“Park Lane” by Frances Osborne
“A Star for Mrs. Blake” by April Smith
“The White Queen” by Philippa Gregory — at Central City Public Library.

Season’s Readings From Central City Public Library!

Looking for a good book to read during the holiday season?  Check out our displays (we have something for just about everyone).  To see a list of some of our adult Christmas books, go to:
We have some new Christmas DVD-videos in.  Included are:  “Home Alone: The Complete Collection”, “Faith & Family Holiday Movie 10-Pack”, “Classic Christmas Favorites”, “The Polar Express” and “It’s a Wonderful Life”.

Nebraska Author C.D. (Chuck) Myers Will Be at Library Saturday, Dec. 14 @ 1:00 PM for Author Talk & Book Signing!

Save the date for an author talk & book signing with Nebraska author C.D. (Chuck Myers):
southpolevendetta, Chuck will be at the library discussing his new novel “South Pole Vendetta”. 
This remarkable story takes place in the year 2025.  North Korea has discovered a way to fuel their growing inventory with oil discovered at the South Pole.  They are invading Palmer Station, Antarctica.  Can a lowly army captain avert WWIII while helping a troubled teenage boy come to terms with his estranged father’s death?

1 2 3 4 5