Book Signing With Todd Williams at Central City Public Library on Monday, July 3rd!

Monday, July 3rd (12:00pm-2:00pm)

Book Signing ~ Todd Williams (Central City native and professional artist) will be signing copies of his book “The Legacy of Nebraska” – a beautiful commemoration to all 93 Nebraska counties.  Coffee & cookies will be served.

Dolly Parton’s Imagination Library Offers Free Books to Children Ages Birth to 5!

Dolly Parton’s Imagination Library gives one million FREE BOOKS to children every month. Your *child (up to 5 yrs. old) could receive a new, carefully selected book in the mail each month, at no cost or obligation.?????
*Children ages birth to five who are legal residents of Hall, Hamilton, Howard or Merrick Counties in Nebraska, may be registered online at: www.heartlandunitedway.org or stop by our library to pick up a mail in registration form.

Usborne Books & More Fair at Central City Public Library this Week!

We’re having an Usborne Books & More book fair all this week (through Saturday, May 28th) – and the library will get 50% of all sales back in free books! We hope you can come and “check it out!”

If you aren’t able to stop by this week, but still want to check out what’s available, you can see the whole catalog and order online at:  https://t4487.myubam.com/Event/305183 Please make sure Central City Public Library is listed as the eFair.  Choose ship with organization to have it sent to the library, with the library’s free books, for no shipping charges!

Would you rather pick out a book for the library’s collection, instead of your own?  Check the list of items on the library’s wish list.  If you purchase one, please mark it as purchased on the list.  The library appreciates donations- if you have another book in mind, you are welcome to choose that title instead, even if it’s not on the wish list.  Please also let us know which name you’d like on the donation/memorial plate.  Thank-you so much for you donation!

Would you like to win a FREE BOOK?  Browse our book fair and tell us what book you’d love to win for free!  The library will draw a winner at the close of the book fair.  The winner will receive the book listed on their drawing slip.

New Books In @ Central City Public Library!

newbooks1.20.16

New Books!!
Call (946-2512) or comment to be put on the reserve lists.
“New Leaf: a Mystic Creek Novel” by Catherine Anderson
“Sage’s Eyes” by V.C. Andrews (release date 1/26)
“The Swans of 5th Avenue” by Melanie Benjamin – Author (release date 1/26)
“Stars Above: a Lunar Chronicles Collection” by Marissa Meyer, YA Author (release date 2/2) (YA)
“The Siren” by Kiera Cass (release date 1/26)
“The Road to Little Dribbling: Adventures of an American in Britain” by Bill Bryson
“Between the World and Me” by Ta-Nehisi Coates
“Most Dangerous: Daniel Ellsberg and the Secret History of the Vietnam War” by Steve Sheinkin (YA)
“Brooklyn” by Colm Tóibín
“Earnest” by Kristin von Kreisler Author Page (release date 1/26)
“The Illegal” by Lawrence Hill (release date 1/25)
“Star Wars: the Force Awakens” by Alan Dean Foster
“The Ultimate Dehydrator Cookbook” by Tammy Gangloff, Steven Gangloff, & September Ferguson.
‪#‎NewBooks‬

MEET Nebraska AUTHOR Bonnie Lacy Tuesday, Sept. 22 @ 6:30pm at Central City Public Library!

MEET NEBRASKA AUTHOR Bonnie Lacy, Tuesday, Sept. 22 @ 6:30pm.?
Lacy is the author of six novels, a nonfiction book, devotionals, several children’s books, and many short stories. She will read excerpts from her recently published novel “Released: The Great Escapee Series.”
She will also share the process she uses to write her books and where some of the inspiration for the characters in her books come from. Lacy lives in Osceola, NE.
Books will be available for purchase/signing after the program.? http://bonnielacy.com/ ‪#‎BonnieLacy‬ ‪#‎Released‬ ‪#‎AuthorTalk‬ ‪#‎BookSigning‬

Central City Public Library's photo.
Central City Public Library's photo.

 

Lots of NEW Materials Being Added to Our Young Adult Section~ Thanks to a Grant from YALSA and Dollar General Literacy Foundaton!

We have LOTS of NEW MATERIALS coming in for our YOUNG ADULT SECTION! ??
Included are fiction/non-fiction books, & audiobooks. Topics include: career advice, help with selecting college majors, self-help, sports-related books, etc. ? ???
Also NEW is an iPad air available for use in the library (pre-loaded with cool apps for teens/kids)! Yes, it does have Minecraft PE on it! ??
*These Young Adult Summer Reading Resources are being supported by a grant from the Young Adult Library Services Association (YALSA) and the Dollar General Literacy Foundation.???

Meet the Author ~ Mark Malmkar ~ December 5!

Friday, December 5 ~ Noon-3:00pm
Stop in and visit with Nebraska author Mark Malmkar as he discusses his book MURDER ON THE GOLDEN STATE.
Wayne Darnell, a senior FBI agent in the Chicago field office picked up the phone. The Southern Pacific Railroad Police reported a crime scene in a sleeping car on one of their premier passenger trains, the Golden State. The evidence was one of the bedrooms contained bullet holes and blood. As he listened to the agent on the phone from the train station in Los Angeles, he was stunned by one critical detail. Tony Fiorelli, one of the dispatchers at J&L Express, a trucking company in northern Chicago, is confronted by the realization that he is a marked man. The mob is going to kill him, and it seems imminent that the Feds are going to arrest him. Can he get away from them both?
Books will be available for purchase/signing. Drop in anytime between noon-3:00pm.

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Murder-on-the-Golden-State/824205040933866

MarkMalmkar2

Smart Investing @ Your Library Kick-Off Event Tuesday, November 18!

smartinvestingWhere will you find money for college? ..Money to buy a home? …Money for retirement? Central City Public Libraryhas resources to help you find answers. The library is offering books, in-library events, and online curriculum, to help people make better decisions about their money by taking advantage of free, unbiased resources offered at the library.

A Kick-Off Event to launch the library training is scheduled at the library on November 18 at 6:30pm-7:30pm. The Wrap-Up Event will be held on Tuesday, January 6 at 6:30pm-7:30pm.  Advance registration is recommended by stopping by or contacting the library at 946-2512. Participants who attend both the Kick-Off and Wrap-Up events and participate in the free online curriculum will be eligible for the drawings of an iPod Shuffle and $25 Amazon.com gift card.  Participants can complete the online course at their own pace.

This financial education effort is supported in part by a grant from Smart investing @ your library®, a partnership between the American Library Association and the FINRA Investor Education Foundation. The Smart Investing @ your library® Builds Nebraska Communities program is coordinated in Nebraska by the Nebraska Library Commission and the Northeast Library System.

The FINRA Investor Education Foundation supports innovative research and educational projects that give underserved Americans the knowledge, skills and tools necessary for financial success throughout life. For details about grant programs and other FINRA Foundation initiatives, visit www.finrafoundation.org.

 

 

Meet the Author: Jim Misko (Thursday, Oct. 23 @ 12:00pm-3:00pm)!

asallmyfatherswereMeet the Author:  Jim Misko

Thursday, Oct. 23  12:00pm-3:00pm

Books will be available for purchase/signing.  

Author Jim Misko, Nebraska born and bred, will be stopping at the library on Thursday, October 23 (12:00pm-3:00pm) as part of the tour for his new book “As All My Fathers Were.”  This All-American novel is about two aging brothers who travel the beautiful but endangered Platte River to complete the dictates of their mother’s will.  Jim Misko’s opus compares to McMurray’s Lonesome Dove, and Norman Mailer’s Battle Cry.  Howard Frank Mosher (author of thirteen books, including the forthcoming novel, God’s Kingdom) writes “In Jim Misko’s exciting new novel, As All My Fathers Were, two aging brothers set out by horseback up the beautiful but endangered Platte River.  Their odyssey into the heart of the contemporary American West is both harrowing and inspiring.  Anyone who thinks that old-fashioned storytelling in the tradition of Lonesome Dove and Cold Mountain has gone the way of the Platte River buffalo herd must read this fine novel.”

 

1 2 3 4 6