Blog Archives

National Library Week

    National Library Week will be celebrated April 10-16 at the McCook Public Library. Key chains, pens and a book drawing will be held throughout the week.

Activities include:

Monday (April 11) – “Let us Bag Your Books”

Tuesday (April 12) National Library Workers Day

Wednesday (April 13), “Let Us Bag You Something Sweet”

Thursday (April 14) 1,000 Books Before Kindergarten Celebration (watch for your invitation)

Friday(April 15) “Cookies in a Bag”.

Come and enjoy the different activities and help celebrate YOUR LIBRARY!!!!!


Watch for Children’s Book Week to be held May 2-6, 2016/


Come and enjoy an evening of poetry at the McCook  Public Library to help celebrate April as National Poetry Month. The Library has join with the McCook High School and the Buffalo Common Storytelling and Music Festival planning committee. The event will Tuesday, April 5th from 7-8 p.m. Ginny Odenbach, McCook’s poet Laureate will be the featured speaker. High school students include: Stephen Hoffman, Brandon Molczyk, Hope Rowe, Rachell Jones and Tim Brinamen. Anyone with poetry to present is encouraged to attend. Refreshments will be served.


Sweet Treat Drawing Announced

Sweet Treat drawing winners include: Rambler Farr, Nolan Yilk, Ragen King,Jed Crawford,Luis Almanza, Trinity Felzien, Scott Milheiser, Isaaac Snyder, Hayden Uerling, Abby Boner, Kalissa Hagan, Kylan Wonder, Adalaide Miller, Isabella Scollard, Mitch Harms  and Hannah Thompson. In the adult category included: Cassie Spencer, Marlene Rogers, Christian Gross, RanDee Barger, Colleen MIchaelis, Deb Petty, Christi King, and Karissa Crawford. Congratulations to all. HAPPY EASTER TO EVERYONE.


Come Celebrate with Us!

Dr. Seuss


All His Friends

Wednesday, March 2, 2016

4:00 – 5:00 PM




TAB (Teen Advisory Board)

& 6 7 8 Club 

will be hosting!

Christmas Drawing Winners Announced

    Winners of the drawings for 13 and Under were: London Blomstedt, Zoe Carson, Walker Coleman, Erin Marks, Addi and Adyn Meyers, Kenzie Michaelis, Josilin and Kendall Miller, Kinzley Morgan, Andreanna Moseman, Arianna Pate, Hannah and Zander Ralston, Aleigh Randel,Elizabeth Swartz, Annaliese and Jonan Scollard, Violet Stevens, Payvn Terry, Scarlet Thayer, Jorge Ulloa, Austin and Grace Wahrman, Alice Wiemer, Kyler White, Rebecka Winder, Ryan Wonder and Leah Zipperlen.

 Ages 13 and Up winners were: Pat Unger, Peggy Appleyard, Susan Hardin, Christy King, Carol Kline, Lori Rousselle, Kathleen Johnson, Andrea Stevens, Donna Curtis, Sara Frank, Shelly Wilkinson, Pam Hartwell, Glen Ralsotn, Daphne Tidyman, Samantha League, Natalie Marks, Teresa Kipp, Marilyn Anderjaska, Liz Yilk, Doris Clough, Maria Moseman and Donna Pleinis.

Congratulations to ALL!!!!!!!!


     The McCook City Library will be hosting a story time on Wednesday, Dec. 23rd starting at 10 a.m. There will be stories, puppets, jokes, trivia and maybe a treat. The story time will be hosted by Miss Diane, TAB-Teen Advisory Board and the 678 Club. Come listen to the Holidays come alive with our special guests entertaining you.

Holiday Hours

     The McCook City Library staff would like to wish you all  Happy Holidays and a Joyful New Year. Library Staff includes: Jody Crocker, Tracy Kennedy, Dorothea Warburton, Lois Simcox, LaVonne McPhillips and Richard Kottman.

The McCook City Library will close at noon on Thursday, Dec. 24th and remain closed till Monday Dec. 28th. For New Year’s the library will close at 3 pm on Thursday, Dec.31 and remain close till Monday, Jan. 4.  Enjoy  this time with family and friends.


Happy Thanksgiving to You from Us

Happy Thanksgiving to all of you from the staff at the McCook City Library. The Library will  close at 5 p.m. on Wednesday Nov. 25th and reopen on Monday, Nov. 30th. Enjoy time with family and friends.

South Entrance is Open

Stop in and see our new tile in the south entrance to the library. Thanks to the McCook Public Library Foundation for provided the funds.

Halloweeeeeeeeeeeeeen Boooooooook Drawing

The McCook City Library Halloween Book Drawing winners have been announced. Book and treat winners include: Scott Linden, Truth Morabito, Paisley Marvier, Celia Koebel, Truman Hancock, Gabriel Ulloa, Cora Bogardus, Matthew Lebhardt, Camryn Yilk, Lee Davidson, Jaylee Hammond, Canon and Jed Crawford, Otto Matson, Madelyn Matson, Dani Tolliver, Christian Kuykendall, Landry Mendenhall, Josiah Donelan and Alice Weimer. Congratulations!!!!!!!!!!!