Senior Chair Yoga !!

Senior Chair Yoga Mondays 1:30-2:30 pm come join us for a relaxing time!!!!

Summer Reading Wrap up party !!

 

Well Summer reading 2018 Libraries Rock has come to an end, we are sad to see it go but excited for next year i know it will be “out of this world”. We had a wonderful turn out for summer reading and lots of fun thank you to all who helped we really appreciate you. This year for Libraries Rock we had 52 Children, 9 Teens, and 11 Adults who participated and i could not be prouder of all of you ya’ll did a fantastic job!

For our adults and teens we played bingo, for every bingo card they got a ticket to put in the bucket of the basket they wanted we drew names on July 26th….

Our winners for the Adult and Teen Bingo were

  1. Kate

  2. Nedra

  3. Anne

  4. Julie

  5. Cindy

  6. Jackie

  7. Pete

  8. Jessica

  9. Pam

  10. Barbra

  11. Adrianna

  12. Jesika

  13. Eladia

  14. Lily

Great job and Congratulations to all of you!!

For the Children’s Program we had 4 Top Super readers to be a super reader you had to read over 2000 Pages our top 4 readers were

  1. Ella who read 17,925 pages

  2. Zoe who read 6500 pages

  3. Hayden who read 6000 pages

  4. Cecila who read 5000 pages

Everyone did a wonderful job congratulations all of you

 

Summer Reading Wrap-up Party

Friday July 27th we will be having the  wrap-up party for summer reading in the Morrill Park at 2pm if it is raining we will have the party in the Library!!

The Library will Close at 12:30 PM on Friday July 27th for the party!!

Letters about Literature

Letters about Literature
A great story and the opportunity to tell an author about how a book made a difference in their own life
Letter Writing Clinic is July 18th at 2-3:30pm and July 25th from 2-3:30
Level I for young readers in grades 4-6
Level II for young adult readers in grades 7-8
Level III for readers in grades 9-12
we will have our own cash prizes, however the National winner in each competition level will receive a $1000.00 cash award National Honor winners in each level will receive a $200 cash award!

New Items

Are you hot? Well come to the library and check out a book, you’ll still be hot but at least you’ll have book to read!

Here are some of our new books and DVDs to check out

New Books

In Conclusion, Don’t Worry About It Hardcover – April 3, 2018

by Lauren Graham

“If you’re kicking yourself for not having accomplished all you should have by now, don’t worry about it. Even without any ‘big’ accomplishments yet to your name, you are enough.” 

In this expansion of the 2017 commencement speech she gave at her hometown Langley High, Lauren Graham, the beloved star of Gilmore Girls and Parenthood, reflects on growing up, pursuing your dreams, and living in the here and now. “Whatever path you choose, whatever career you decide to go after, the important thing is that you keep finding joy in what you’re doing, especially when the joy isn’t finding you.” In her hilarious, relatable voice, Graham reminds us to be curious and compassionate, no matter where life takes us or what we’ve yet to achieve. Grounded and inspiring—and illustrated throughout with drawings by Graham herself—here is a comforting road map to a happy life.

“I’ve had ups and downs. I’ve had successes and senior slumps. I’ve been the girl who has the lead, and the one who wished she had the bigger part. The truth? They don’t feel that different from each other.”

 

Our Towns: A 100,000-Mile Journey into the Heart of America Hardcover – May 8, 2018

by James Fallows  (Author), Deborah Fallows (Author)

A vivid, surprising portrait of the civic and economic reinvention taking place in America, town by town and generally out of view of the national media. A realistically positive and provocative view of the country between its coasts.

For the last five years, James and Deborah Fallows have been traveling across America in a single-engine prop airplane. Visiting dozens of towns, they have met hundreds of civic leaders, workers, immigrants, educators, environmentalists, artists, public servants, librarians, business people, city planners, students, and entrepreneurs to take the pulse and understand the prospects of places that usually draw notice only after a disaster or during a political campaign.

The America they saw is acutely conscious of its problems—from economic dislocation to the opioid scourge—but itis also crafting solutions, with a practical-minded determination at dramatic odds with the bitter paralysis of national politics. At times of dysfunction on a national level, reform possibilities have often arisen from the local level. The Fallowses describe America in the middle of one of these creative waves. Their view of the country is as complex and contradictory as America itself, but it also reflects the energy, the generosity and compassion, the dreams, and the determination of many who are in the midst of making things better. Our Towns is the story of their journey—and an account of a country busy remaking itself.

The Bedford Boys: One American Town’s Ultimate D-day Sacrifice Reprint Edition

by Alex Kershaw

June 6, 1944: Nineteen boys from Bedford, Virginia–population just 3,000 in 1944–died in the first bloody minutes of D-Day. They were part of Company A of the 116th Regiment of the 29th Division, and the first wave of American soldiers to hit the beaches in Normandy. Later in the campaign, three more boys from this small Virginia town died of gunshot wounds. Twenty-two sons of Bedford lost–it is a story one cannot easily forget and one that the families of Bedford will never forget. The Bedford Boys is the true and intimate story of these men and the friends and families they left behind.Based on extensive interviews with survivors and relatives, as well as diaries and letters, Kershaw’s book focuses on several remarkable individuals and families to tell one of the most poignant stories of World War II–the story of one small American town that went to war and died on Omaha Beach.

The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics Paperback – May 27, 2014

by Daniel James Brown  (Author)

For readers of Unbroken, out of the depths of the Depression comes an irresistible story about beating the odds and finding hope in the most desperate of times—the improbable, intimate account of how nine working-class boys from the American West showed the world at the 1936 Olympics in Berlin what true grit really meant.

It was an unlikely quest from the start. With a team composed of the sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the University of Washington’s eight-oar crew team was never expected to defeat the elite teams of the East Coast and Great Britain, yet they did, going on to shock the world by defeating the German team rowing for Adolf Hitler. The emotional heart of the tale lies with Joe Rantz, a teenager without family or prospects, who rows not only to regain his shattered self-regard but also to find a real place for himself in the world. Drawing on the boys’ own journals and vivid memories of a once-in-a-lifetime shared dream, Brown has created an unforgettable portrait of an era, a celebration of a remarkable achievement, and a chronicle of one extraordinary young man’s personal quest.

Some DVDs we have recently added

12 Strong

12 Strong tells the story of the first Special Forces team deployed to Afghanistan after 9/11; under the leadership of a new captain, the team must work with an Afghan warlord to take down the Taliban.

The 15:17 to Paris

three Americans discover a terrorist plot aboard a train while in France.

Annihalation

A biologist signs up for a dangerous, secret expedition into a mysterious zone where the laws of nature don’t apply.

Darkest Hour

In May 1940, the fate of Western Europe hangs on British Prime Minister Winston Churchill, who must decide whether to negotiate with Adolf Hitler, or fight on knowing that it could mean a humiliating defeat for Britain and its empire.

Death Wish

Death Wish is a movie starring Bruce Willis, Vincent D’Onofrio, and Elisabeth Shue. Dr. Paul Kersey is an experienced trauma surgeon, a man who has spent his life saving lives. After an attack on his family, Paul embarks on his own mission for justice

Early Man 

Set at the dawn of time, when prehistoric creatures and woolly mammoths roamed the earth, Early Man tells the story of Dug, along with sidekick Hognob as they unite his tribe against a mighty enemy Lord Nooth and his Bronze Age City to save their home.

Game night 

A group of friends who meet regularly for game nights find themselves entangled in a real-life mystery.

Hotel for Dogs

Two kids secretly take in stray dogs at a vacant hotel.

I can only Imagine

The inspiring and unknown true story behind MercyMe’s beloved, chart topping song that brings ultimate hope to so many is a gripping reminder of the power of true forgiveness.

Peter Rabbit

Feature adaptation of Beatrix Potter’s classic tale of a rebellious rabbit trying to sneak into a farmer’s vegetable garden.

WordPress Themes