Board of Trustees Bylaws

The library board shall consist of five members appointed as provided in Nebraska state statute 51-203, who shall hold the title of Trustees. The terms of trustees are five years. Trustees may serve for not more than two consecutive five year terms, beginning with the July meeting. After an absence of one year, a trustee is again eligible for board membership. Terms are to be staggered and new members will be chosen to fill unexpired terms. Library trustees shall nominate new board members, and the Sargent Township Board will appoint them by a majority vote.

The officers of the board shall consist of a President, Vice-president, and Secretary-Treasurer, who shall be elected from the membership every two years at the regular meeting in July

Regular meetings will be held quarterly. At all meetings of the board, three trustees shall constitute a quorum, and a majority vote of all trustees present shall be required for the adoption of any motion or resolution. Trustees must notify the President as soon as possible when they are unable to attend a meeting to insure a quorum will be met. The presiding officer shall be entitled to vote on all motions. Notices of library meetings will be posted in the library, at the Sargent Post Office, and Trotters prior to holding the meeting.

Any board member missing more than two consecutive meetings without a pre-approved absence by the board or due to illness, will be terminated.

Board members must as a group, participate in 20 hours of approved continuing education events over a three year period to maintain their state certification.

No member shall receive any pay or compensation for any services rendered as a member of the board.

These By-Laws may be amended at any regular meeting of the Board by a three-fifths vote of the total membership, provided that written notice was given to each member at least two days prior to the meeting. These By-Laws may be amended at any time by the unanimous vote of the Board without prior notice.

The above and foregoing By-Laws were duly amended and adopted by the Sargent Library Board this 28th day of October, 2023.

Board members:

Rhonda Pointer first term started July 2023 Ricky Hightower second term started July 2022 Jessica Fenske first term started July 2021 Della Pulley first term started July 2020 Kathleen Wilson first term started July 2024