Circulation Policy

Shelby Community Library
Approved November 2, 2010
Revised February 2, 2012
Approved May 8, 2012

Equitable access to information of all types is a high priority of the Sheloy Community Library.
Members of the public are welcome to use materials in the library, and those who are interested
and agree to the policies listed here may borrow the resources of the library for use outside of the

library.

A. Check Out Rule:

DVD’s, VHS and Bluray’s will be checked out for a period of THREE DAYS with a
limit of four movies per family per day.

Books, magazines, cake pans, music CD’s will be checked out for a period of
FOURTEEN DAYS.

The same book, magazine, cake pan, music CD’s, if it is not on demand, can be checked
out for an additional FOURTEEN DAYS. The item may be returned to the library for a
renewal stamp or by phone.

A .25 cent per day charge will be imposed on all late returned books, magazines, cake
pans and music CD’s.

A $1.00 fine per day charge will be imposed on all late returns of DVD’s, VHS’s and
Blu-ray’s.

All items not returned during a period of 30 days after the due date, will be charged the
replacement cost as determined by the librarian.

All materials checked out of the library may be returned by using the drop box.

When fines reach the cost of the item checked out the fine will be the replacement cost of
that item, but not more than the replacement cost.

B. NebrasKard:

NebrasKard is a statewide program that encourages Nebraska libraries to participate in
reciprocal borrowing arrangements for the benefit of libraries and library users.

a.

Patrons from libraries who participate in NebrasKard may apply for a free
Library card upon showing their current library card with a dated NebrasKard
sticker. NebrasKard patrons are limited to having 25 items checked out at any
one time after receiving their Sheloy Community Library card and are subject to
all other rules of the Library.

Shelby Community Library patrons in good standing may request a NebrasKard for
use at participating libraries in the state.
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. Overdrive:

Any one 17 years old or younger must have the consent of their parents to use the Nebraska
Overdrive. Library/Overdrive cards will only be issued in the parent’s name.

. Denial of Library Privileges:

a.

b.

The use of the library and/or its services may be denied, temporarily or permanently, for
due cause. Such cause may be failure to return books, pay penalties, destruction or any
other conduct on library premises deemed objectionable by the library staff.

Patrons have a right of appealing to the Shelboy Community Library Board.

. Library Services Provided:

Adult Books
Audio Books
Blu-ray Movies
Book Fair
Cake Pans
Children’s Books
Computer Lab (12 children) (6 adult laptops)
Copy Machine
Cricut Machine
Deliver Books to Shut Ins
DVD Movies
Fax
Inter Library Loan
Laminating
Large Print Books
Local History
Magazines
Meeting Facilities
Music CD’S
NE Overdrive (e-readers, tablets & mp3)
NebrasKard
Newspapers
Online Catalogue
On-Line Data Bases
Reference Books’
Story Hour
Summer Reading Program (reading contest, story hour and movies)
Tax Forms Available
Telephone
Website http://libraries.ne.gov/shelby
Wi-Fi
Young Adult Books
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F. Fines:

If overdue items have not been returned within two weeks after the third notice has been sent, a
letter will be sent to the patron advising them that if they have not made arrangements with the
library within ten days in regard to the overdue items, the matter will be turned over to the Polk
County Sheriff’s Office to be prosecuted.
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