Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees is composed of five members who are appointed to three-year terms by the Beemer Village Board. Their responsibilities include selecting and hiring a qualified Library Director; determining the purposes of the library and ensuring that the library has adequate funds; developing (with the Library Director) written policies, the strategic plan, and annual budget; and attending monthly Board meetings and other events.

Legal Powers of the Board of Trustees:

The legal power of the Karlen Memorial Library Board of Trustees shall be:

  1. To erect, lease, or occupy the library building.
  2. Appoint and determine the salaries and hours of the library staff.
  3. Establish regulations for governance of the library.
  4. Impose penalties for theft or damage to the library property or infraction of library regulations.
  5. Control library expenditures.
  6. Exercise the powers necessary to carry out the intent of statutes, regarding establishment and maintenance of a public library.

Board meetings, usually held at 5:00 p.m. on the fourth Monday of the month, are open to the public.

To inquire about becoming a member of the Board of Trustees, contact the Library Director, Stephanie Payton at 402/528-3476.


Current Members:

Sarah Haber, President

Sandy Lierman, Vice President

Jackie Delmont, Secretary

Sue Martin

Sherri Harrington


Past Members:

Past Library Board Members

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *