What Should I Read?

New & Recommended Books

The books in the following lists can be found in our library or on Overdrive/Libby, free with your library card.

Take care of your Mental Health!  

These are the newest books going on our shelves; included are fiction and non-fiction titles.

[slideshow_deploy id=’1417′]

These books have been on the New York Times Bestsellers list, recently.

[slideshow_deploy id=’1500′]

Read the book then watch the movie! Which is better?

[slideshow_deploy id=’1516′]

Fantasy fiction is a genre of writing in which the plot could not happen in real life (as we know it, at least). Often, the plot involves magic or witchcraft and takes place on another planet or in another – undiscovered – dimension of this world.

[slideshow_deploy id=’1597′]

Romance fiction is smart, fresh, and diverse. Whether you enjoy contemporary dialogue, historical settings, mystery, thrillers or any number of other themes, there’s a romance novel waiting for you! Two basic elements comprise every romance novel: a central love story and an emotionally satisfying and optimistic ending.

[slideshow_deploy id=’1628′]

This is a genre of fiction whose content is imaginative, but based in science. It relies heavily on scientific facts, theories, and principles as support for its settings, characters, themes, and plotlines; which makes it different from fantasy.

[slideshow_deploy id=’1547′]

The Alex Awards are given to books written for adults that have special appeal to young adults, ages 12 through 18.

[slideshow_deploy id=’1438′]

The Coretta Scott King Book Awards are given annually to outstanding African American authors and illustrators of books for children and young adults that demonstrate an appreciation of African American culture and universal human values.


[slideshow_deploy id=’1446′]

From 1992, each year a handful of books are nominated for Nebraska youth to read and vote on. Here are the current year nominees.

[slideshow_deploy id=’1404′]

The Michael L Printz Award is an award for a book that exemplifies literary excellence in young adult literature.

[slideshow_deploy id=’1456′]

The first and most enduring award for LGBTQIA+ books, which is presented to English language works published the year prior to the announcement date.

[slideshow_deploy id=’1576′]

The William C Morris YA Debut Award, first given in 2009, honors a book published by a first-time author writing for teens and celebrating impressive new voices in young adult literature.

[slideshow_deploy id=’1469′]

YALSA’s Award for Excellence in Nonfiction honors the best nonfiction book published for young adults (ages 12-18) during a Nov. 1 – Oct. 31 publishing year.

[slideshow_deploy id=’1485′]

Comments are closed.

  • Archived Posts