Meet the Author ~ Mark Malmkar ~ December 5!

Friday, December 5 ~ Noon-3:00pm
Stop in and visit with Nebraska author Mark Malmkar as he discusses his book MURDER ON THE GOLDEN STATE.
Wayne Darnell, a senior FBI agent in the Chicago field office picked up the phone. The Southern Pacific Railroad Police reported a crime scene in a sleeping car on one of their premier passenger trains, the Golden State. The evidence was one of the bedrooms contained bullet holes and blood. As he listened to the agent on the phone from the train station in Los Angeles, he was stunned by one critical detail. Tony Fiorelli, one of the dispatchers at J&L Express, a trucking company in northern Chicago, is confronted by the realization that he is a marked man. The mob is going to kill him, and it seems imminent that the Feds are going to arrest him. Can he get away from them both?
Books will be available for purchase/signing. Drop in anytime between noon-3:00pm.

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Murder-on-the-Golden-State/824205040933866

MarkMalmkar2

Library Events, New Books

Questions About the Affordable Care Act? Need Help Completing Your Application?

The Central Nebraska Community Services Navigator for the Healthcare Marketplace will be available to answer any questions regarding the Affordable Care Act or help you complete an application and enroll in health coverage Friday, Dec. 6 12:00pm-6:00pm! Open Enrollment to sign up for coverage through the Marketplace is from November 15, 2014 through February 15, 2015.

If you are wanting to enroll please bring:

  • Social Security Numbers or prooof of legal residence for anyone needing insurance
  • Proof of tribal membership if American Indian or Alaska Native
  • Birth dates
  • Proof of income: Pay stubs, W-2 forms, or “Wage and Tax Statements” for everyone in the household

(Sponsored by:  Central Nebraska Community Services)

Library Events

Smart Investing @ Your Library Kick-Off Event Tuesday, November 18!

smartinvestingWhere will you find money for college? ..Money to buy a home? …Money for retirement? Central City Public Libraryhas resources to help you find answers. The library is offering books, in-library events, and online curriculum, to help people make better decisions about their money by taking advantage of free, unbiased resources offered at the library.

A Kick-Off Event to launch the library training is scheduled at the library on November 18 at 6:30pm-7:30pm. The Wrap-Up Event will be held on Tuesday, January 6 at 6:30pm-7:30pm.  Advance registration is recommended by stopping by or contacting the library at 946-2512. Participants who attend both the Kick-Off and Wrap-Up events and participate in the free online curriculum will be eligible for the drawings of an iPod Shuffle and $25 Amazon.com gift card.  Participants can complete the online course at their own pace.

This financial education effort is supported in part by a grant from Smart investing @ your library®, a partnership between the American Library Association and the FINRA Investor Education Foundation. The Smart Investing @ your library® Builds Nebraska Communities program is coordinated in Nebraska by the Nebraska Library Commission and the Northeast Library System.

The FINRA Investor Education Foundation supports innovative research and educational projects that give underserved Americans the knowledge, skills and tools necessary for financial success throughout life. For details about grant programs and other FINRA Foundation initiatives, visit www.finrafoundation.org.

 

 

Library Events, New Books

Crafternoons Begin Thursday, November 6!

Crafternoonslogo (3)

Have a craft project you are working on? Or, are you thinking about starting a new one? Come in and enjoy visiting while you work on it. Crafternoons will be held during November & December, on Thursday afternoons from 1:00pm-4:00pm (beginning Thursday, November 6). No sign-up needed, come and go as you wish.

Library Events

Meet the Author: Jim Misko (Thursday, Oct. 23 @ 12:00pm-3:00pm)!

asallmyfatherswereMeet the Author:  Jim Misko

Thursday, Oct. 23  12:00pm-3:00pm

Books will be available for purchase/signing.  

Author Jim Misko, Nebraska born and bred, will be stopping at the library on Thursday, October 23 (12:00pm-3:00pm) as part of the tour for his new book “As All My Fathers Were.”  This All-American novel is about two aging brothers who travel the beautiful but endangered Platte River to complete the dictates of their mother’s will.  Jim Misko’s opus compares to McMurray’s Lonesome Dove, and Norman Mailer’s Battle Cry.  Howard Frank Mosher (author of thirteen books, including the forthcoming novel, God’s Kingdom) writes “In Jim Misko’s exciting new novel, As All My Fathers Were, two aging brothers set out by horseback up the beautiful but endangered Platte River.  Their odyssey into the heart of the contemporary American West is both harrowing and inspiring.  Anyone who thinks that old-fashioned storytelling in the tradition of Lonesome Dove and Cold Mountain has gone the way of the Platte River buffalo herd must read this fine novel.”

 

Library Events, New Books

Korean Cooking Night Event

The Korean girls from Nebraska Christian, directed by International Relations Doctoral Candidate Esther Nam, and sponsored by Barb and Larry Hoff, offered a Korean Cooking Night on September 15.  They demonstrated how to make Kimbob (a Korean Sushi-type roll). As you can see in the photos, they are very colorful (filled with a variety of tasty meats, fish, and/or vegetables). Participants used bamboo sushi-mats to roll the rice and other ingredients they chose, up into the rolls (which were wrapped tightly in gim (seaweed paper). A little bit of sesame oil rubbed over the roll helped to ease with cutting. The teachers were able to give participants some chopstick tips as well.
It was a very enjoyable evening! **We have extra copies of the recipe/instructions at the library, if anyone would like one.
Thank-you so much to everyone that attended the class! Thank-you to Heartland Evangelical Free Church for the use of your facility! Also, special thanks to Barb and Larry Hoff, Miseon “Esther” Nam, Soyoung “Gladys” Kim, Jeong Mi “Alicia” Kim, Yae Been “Melinda” Kim and Nebraska Christian Schools! :)

Korean Cooking Night Photos

Library Events

Don’t Miss an Author Talk/Book Signing With Tracy Lynn Blessen on Monday, Sept. 22!

Meet Nebraska author (and Fullerton resident) Tracy Lynn Blessen, Monday, Sept. 22 @ 7:00 pm. Be sure to mark it on your calendar now!
Blessen is the author of the recently published book “A Farmer’s Wife.” She will read excerpts from the book, sharing stores about her life as a hardworking farm wife. Books are available for purchase/signing after the program.
Jane E. Ryan (author of the novels “The Boarder” and “Broken Spirits, Lost Souls” and writer/executive producer of the film, “The Boarder”) writes “For anyone interested in the lives of hardworking farm wives, Tracy Lynn Blessen’s new book, A FARMER’S WIFE is a must read!  Filled with colorful details of the routine and unexpected events common to Nebraska farm life, Ms. Blessen paints a clear picture using broad strokes combined with her own blend of gentle humor.”
Books are available for purchase/signing after the program.
A Farmer's Wife (2)

 

Library Events, New Books

Register Now for a Korean Cooking Class to be Held Monday, Sept. 15!

Register now for a Korean Cooking Class!
The Korean Cooking Night class will be held, Monday, Sept. 15 @ 7:00pm-8:30pm. Fee: $5 (payable evening of class). Location: Heartland Evangelical Free Church (Central City).
The Korean girls from Nebraska Christian, directed by International Relations Doctoral Candidate Esther Nam, sponsored by Barb and Larry Hoff, will be offering the Korean Cooking Night. They will demonstrate how to make Kimbob (a Korean Sushi-type roll) that can be filled with a variety of meats, fish, and/or vegetables. This roll is festive looking, good tasting, and easy to prepare. Perfect for a holiday table.
International cooking classes provide a wonderful opportunity to learn about other cultures!!
Class size is limited, so pre-register now! Contact the library at 946-2512 or register online at:

 

Library Events

Letters About Literature Reading & Writing Contest for Students in Grades 4-12!

Attention Students in Grades 4-12!
Letters About Literature is a reading and writing contest for students in grades 4-12. Students are asked to read a book, poem or speech and write to that author (living or dead) about how the book affected them personally. Letters are judged/awarded prizes on state and national levels. Sponsored in association with the Nebraska Center for the Book and Nebraska Library Commission.

http://www.read.gov/letters/

Youth News

Civil War Activities Hosted by Library at the Merrick County Fair

Our library hosted this event at the Merrick County Fair (during Kids’ Day Activities) on Wednesday, July 30. It consisted of a Civil War Camp Reenactment with the Hood Family—people were able to see what life was like for a soldier and family, listen as they explained weaponry, foods, flags, tents, etc. Attendees were even able to taste “hardtack” and learn other cool stuff!! ~ The Lone Tree Quilters Guild helped participants make a quilt square. Quilts were used as secret escape codes by slaves to guide them to freedom on the Underground Railroad. Those that attended were able to make individual quilt blocks from paper that were part of those codes. They were also able to learn the secret message that certain quilt blocks held. ~ Scott Musil played Civil War era songs on old phonographs (from the early 1900’s) ~ Various historical characters from the Civil War wandered around the midway. They told us about themselves and their lives. Nancy Johnson was at the schoolhouse to tell people what it was like for students back then. The 4-H Junior leaders organized and played a variety of Civil War era games with the kids.
Thank-you so very much to the following individuals and organizations for partnering with the library for this event: Josh, Sarah & Kaleb Hood, The Lone Tree Quilters Guild, Scott Musil, 4-H Jr. Leaders, Tammy Stuhr & Merrick County Extension Staff, Merrick County Fair Board, Nancy Johnson, Merrick County Historical Museum, Connor Lovejoy, Nicholas Lovejoy and Katy Lovejoy!
*This project made possible by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities, the Library of America, and the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History. The grants are being offered as part of the “Civil War 150” project (a project timed with the 150th anniversary to encourage public exploration of the impact of the American Civil War).

 

Library Events