About Us

We are one of four non-profit corporations partnering with the Nebraska Library Commission to provide access to improved library services through the cooperation of all types of libraries and media centers within the counties included in each System area.  Prior to January 1, 2015, there were six systems. Three Rivers Library System is the result of a merger between Eastern Library System and Northeast Library System.

Our Purpose

The purpose of the Three Rivers Library System is:

  1. to provide a mechanism for development of cooperative programs among libraries and communities to address library service needs;
  2. to work with the Nebraska Library Commission and libraries to improve local and regional service development; and
  3. to promote and enhance libraries and library services within the regional system area.  This will primarily be accomplished through training and consulting in areas identified by the NLC  including strategic planning, public library accreditation, trustee/library board certification, public librarian certification, children and young adult services, technology development and training, access to electronic books, online library catalogs, licensed databases, library personnel management, library services for multicultural/diverse populations, Basic Skills classes, and other initiatives of the NLC.

Our Service Area

The twenty-one counties within the Three Rivers Library System region are:

Antelope, Boone, Burt, Cass, Cedar, Colfax, Cuming, Dakota, Dixon, Dodge, Douglas, Knox, Madison, Nance, Pierce, Platte, Sarpy, Stanton, Thurston, Washington, and Wayne.

TRLS covers 11,199 square miles and serves a population of roughly 855,400.  That includes 596 public libraries, school library/media centers, academic libraries and special or institutional libraries.

Our  Board of Directors

Our board of directors is composed of seven representatives elected from the TRaiLS service area. An election was held in June 2017. Our board of directors for 2017-18 is:

President: Karen Drevo, Norfolk Public Library

Vice President: Jennifer Norton, Neligh Public Library

Secretary: Tina Walker, Keene Memorial Library

Treasurer: Rebecca Sims, Sump Memorial Library

Active Board Members:

  • Megan Tomasiewicz, Lied Tekamah Public Library
  • Gretchen Long, Omaha Nation Public Schools
  • Dave Graber, Wayne State College
  • Crys Bauermeister, Pierce High School


Board Meeting Minutes

TRaiLS Annual Report 2016-17

TRaiLS Annual Report 2015-16

Contact us!

Contact the director at 402 330-7884 or trls.director@gmail.com

2 thoughts on “About Us”

  1. I watched and listened to the summer reading
    webinar ( I had to listen on my phone while watching my computer as I couldn’t get the sound to work.] Two questions how do i registar for ceu ‘s and could you please email Sally’s list email to my library (Bennington Public) I hand wrote one but my printer is down at home.

  2. The Eastern Township Library here in Crofton, NE would like to become certified again. We are not sure where to begin. We have a mission statement and some ideas but do not know the fist steps to take toward our goal. Any information would be helpful. Perhaps a sample of an application would get us going. Thanks
    Board Member Veda Chase

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Serving the libraries of the Platte, Elkhorn and Missouri River valleys