How to Get a Library Card

Library cards are free for Nebraska City residents. Patrons who live outside of the Nebraska City limits can get a library card for $20 a year per household and out-of-state residents may get a library card for $25 a year per household.

What You Will Need

Patrons applying for a Library card must provide a photo ID.

You will be asked for your address, a current telephone number, and preferred method of notification, such as e-mail, text messaging or phone call. Finally, you will have your picture taken for your account.

Under 16- Student Card Guidelines

If an applicant is under the age of 16, a parent or guardian must sign a statement of responsibility for a Library account. Students under 16 can get a provisional student card with a check out limit of two items if they can provide an address and telephone number for the account.

Regular Card Check Out Policies

For a regular Library account, there are no limit items on books, audiobooks, or magazines. The only limit is 7 DVD’s per cardholder.

The cardholder is responsible for all materials checked out.

Library materials that are lost or destroyed should be reported to a librarian as soon as possible.

Returning Materials

The library has a drive up materials return with a slot for printed materials and a slot for audiovisual materials. Some of the Library’s materials such as educational games, puzzles, and a few books and audiovisual materials are too large for either return and must be returned to a circulation desk.

Both return slots are open 24 hours a day 7 days a week.

All materials are cleaned and will be checked in on the next business day.

Overdue Fines

The Morton-James Public Library does not assess overdue fines. Materials returned late will not have a fine. Patrons are responsible to pay for missing or damaged items at replacement cost.

Renewing Materials

The Library has an automatic renewal feature that renews eligible material on the afternoon of the day that it is due. Materials that are not on reserve may be renewed once. You may renew eligible items early by calling the library at 402-874-5609 during regular library hours. Please have your library card number available and the title of the items to be renewed. You may also renew items online in your library account through the library website: www.morton-jamespubliclibrary.com by going to the online catalog.

Click here to log in to your account. In the upper right hand corner, sign in using your library card number and your phone number including area code.

Items with a two week checkout and one renewal

  • Books
  • CDs
  • Telescopes

Items with a one week checkout and one renewal

  • DVDs
  • Magazines

Library Collection

  • Adult Fiction & Nonfiction Books
  • Adult and Children DVDs
  • Books on CD
  • Paperbacks
  • Biographies
  • Magazines
  • Weekly Newspapers
  • Teen and Young Adult Books
  • Graphic Novels
  • Large Print Books
  • Spanish Language Fiction and Non-Fiction
  • Children’s Fiction and Nonfiction
  • 2 telescopes

Comments are closed.