Read Aloud Nebraska promotes successful children and families through reading aloud and fosters school and community efforts that develop lifelong readers.

The library has met the criteria and is designated as a Read Aloud Community for 2016-17. This designation as a Read Aloud Library emphasizes our commitment to the importance of reading aloud to children.

Image may contain: 2 people

A library is a good place to go when you feel unhappy, for there, in a book, you may find encouragement and comfort. A library is a good place to go when you feel bewildered or undecided, for there, in a book, you may have your question answered. Books are good company, in sad times and happy times, for books are people – people who have managed to stay alive by hiding between the covers of a book. (quote by E.B. White)

Stop by the Spalding Public Library and check us out!!

narrative-794978_1280

November’s chosen book by members of the library’s book club is “Me Before You”, by author Jojo Moyes.

A Love Story for this generation and perfect for fans of John Green’s “The Fault in Our Stars”, “Me Before You” brings to life two people who couldn’t have less in common—a heartbreakingly romantic novel that asks, What do you do when making the person you love happy also means breaking your own heart? (From The Trade Paperback Edition)

Stop by the library and get a copy of this book, then watch the movie!

foliage-152051_1280

The next best thing to reading a good book is talking about it!

Join the Spalding Public Library’s book club the first Monday of each month at 5:00 p.m.

Monday, November 7th – “The Girl On The Train” a psychological thriller by author Paula Hawkins. Rachel, devastated by her recent divorce, spends her daily commute fantasizing about the seemingly perfect couple who live in a house that her train passes every day, until one morning she sees something shocking happen there and becomes entangled in the mystery that unfolds.

If you have read this book or seen the movie, please join us Monday, when we will have our next entertaining book club discussion!!

women talking

Parents don’t forget to stop by the library and check out the many fun and spooky Halloween books available for children of all ages including ADULTS!! Reading to your child each day is a great TREAT because it sparks imagination and creativity. Your child’s teacher and librarian will thank you!

Have a safe and fun Halloween!!

halloween-151843_1280

 

japanese-1409839_1280

“The Beach Street Knitting Society And Yarn Club” by Gil McNeil

 

“Barefoot” by Elin Hilderbrand

 

“Good Grief” by Lolly Winston

 

“Gabriel’s Angel” by Nora Roberts

 

“The Last Summer (of You & Me)” by Ann Brashares

 

“The A.B.C. Murders” & “The Secret Adversary” both by Agatha Christie

 

Plus many more great books available for check out at your library!!

“The Girl on the Train” is a mystery and suspense novel by Paula Hawkins. It follows the lives of three women – Rachel, Anna, and Megan – and the events surrounding Megan’s murder, ultimately bringing the lives of the three women together. Each day, Rachel takes the train to work in London, heading past the town of Witney. There, she can see her old house, where her ex-husband, Tom, and his new wife, Anna, live, and she can also see the home of another married couple a few houses down. Rachel becomes endeared by this couple, whom Rachel nicknames Jess and Jason. They appear to have the perfect life, and Rachel is both jealous of, and happy for them. One day, she discovers that Jess is having an affair, and this enrages her. Rachel has no idea how someone could cheat on someone as seemingly perfect as Jason. When Jess goes missing, Rachel is sure that the man she saw cheating with Megan is the culprit. She thus involves herself in the investigation, going to great lengths to try to get to the bottom of things. (from bookrags.com)

Stop by the library and get your copy of this novel and find out what happens next!!

Read the book before you see the movie!!

the-girl-on-the-train

Love a mystery novel? Well the library has many new titles added to its adult fiction collection by these authors:

Jonathan Kellerman

Tess Gerritsen

J.D. Robb

Stuart Woods

Jeffery Deaver

Dean Koontz

Iris Johansen

Patricia Cornwell

Karen Robards

David Baldacci

Mary Higgins Clark

Jay Asher

Stop by and check out one of these new books by your favorite author!

sherlock-holmes-147255_1280

Recent books added to the library’s collections include:

Western Books:

Louis L’Amour- “Bowdrie’s Law” & “Catlow”

Max Brand- “The Galloping Broncos”

Adult Fiction Books:

Nora Roberts- “The Reef”

Robert B. Parker- “Night Passage”

Lolly Winston- “Happiness Sold Separately”

Jenna Blum- “The Stormchasers”

Meg Mitchell Moore- “The Arrivals”

Kids Books:

Stephen Krensky- “We Just Moved!”

Frances Kennedy- “The Pickle Patch Bathtub”

Keith Baker- “Hide And Snake”

Stop by the library and check out these great books!!

leaf

The Spalding Public Library’s Book Club will be holding its regular monthly meeting at the library next Monday, October 3rd at 5pm. The topic of discussion will be Nancy Pickard’s mystery novel, “The Scent Of Rain And Lightning”.  All are welcome to attend!!

dontforget